Welcome to ‘Bloke In A Kitchen’

3

August 30, 2012 by Bloke In A Kitchen

Hello, and step into the kitchen.  Don’t panic, we CAN all cook good stuff.

Thank you for finding me hiding amongst all the other much more exciting stuff on the Internet.  ‘Bloke In A Kitchen‘ is a place for me to share my love for food and cooking.  I’m a single Dad, on a pretty limited income (aren’t we all?), but it’s important to me that my daughter & I can eat well.

More and more over the recent past, I’ve realised that not only is making more and more of our food from scratch not only tastier, cheaper and healthier, but that involving my daughter in the cooking process has made the experience immensely rewarding.

Perhaps I’m lucky, but a side effect of my daughter helping me in the food shopping, cooking and tasting, seems to be that she’ll happily try anything, even olives.  And chocolate.  She loves chocolate.  Keeping it all fun, and not worrying if she doesn’t always like the odd thing, seems to work.

I hope you’ll find some new recipe ideas, take the plunge to try making your very own bread or fresh pasta, be inspired to cook more with your children. And likewise, I hope people will get in touch and swap ideas.

I’m still learning (I’m far from being an expert chef with an amazingly wide repertoire!), so would love to know what you’re cooking too.

I’m 99% veggie (I succumb to seafood), and particuarly love Italian food, a good spicy curry, a tasty stir-fry, home-made bread and a nice slice of cake.  Sometimes I like nothing more than a big bag of Tortilla Chips and some cheap, nasty salsa dip whilst watching the footie on telly.  I’m just a regular bloke, and so this blog isn’t about all that glitzy soft-focus “food-as-a-lifestyle” kind of thing.  It’s about real life, eating well and enjoying the experience.

Enjoy.

Richard x

3 thoughts on “Welcome to ‘Bloke In A Kitchen’

  1. Tracy Dalby says:

    Looking forward to reading lots of your yummy recipes here! Good luck!

  2. Mike Hicks says:

    A great little idea Richard! This blog could go far I reckon.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

CHEESY BISCUIT

CULINARY WORKS IN PROGRESS

Croque-Camille

Food Adventures in Paris

great rock coop - blog

latest news and articles from the great rock cooperative

Miss Chris Creations

Eating Should Be Fun!

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

KarmaFree Cooking

Sharing my Vegetarian Lifestyle and Delicious Vegetarian Recipes with You

Christie Pepper

A working mom's salvation

Dharma Beginner

Mindfulness, Meditation & Compassion for All

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Cultural Wonders In The Mix

Animating cultural wonders through new commissioned soundscapes, music and art

Rethinking Childhood

Website for Tim Gill: researcher, writer, consultant

My rubbish photos

Because even rubbish photos have a story

Cycle Of Life - Fix You

I used to weigh 39 stone or 560 Lbs

interestingthymes

Yuppiebaking

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

